Starting a legit business

• Help support Chopped Baggers :

smokenjoep01

Hey folks, Im needing some guidance and figure we got a wealth of unbiased knowledge around here. I have had a back yard shop since 2003 and it has kept me quite busy. In recent years I have made easily 50% of my regular job salary. My day job is in a elementary school. I am a NC state employee with retirement, health insurance etc.
Just as everyone as been effected by the economy so has things with the state. Mainly no raises in over 3 years. Now I have a new boss and things are not as smooth as they had been. My shop is very busy and I have been toying with the idea of starting a legit shop in a commercial area close by my home. Im well respected by the local import bike shops as they send me work and we have a all brand shop that subcontracts me there Vtwin work. The other two independant Vtwin shops local are not known for there quality and one is actually quite far out of town. So I think the business would be there to support a new shop.
Just not sure how to go about this and still be able to sleep at night knowing my mortgage will be paid. I have no business experience. Just good mechanical service! Some have suggested a business plan, but I wouldnt know how to do that. Were do I start??

Aaugman

I've owned my own business for years, the best advice I can give you is
1-keep your overhead as low as possible, most people when they start go out and spend all the $$ they have because they think fancy tools huge premises and wrapped cars will generate business...it doesn't

2- when ur on your own your business is your life and it's 24/7 if ur not looking for business U should be looking how to make it better.

3- rather under promise and over deliver than make promises that you can't deliver. It's a lot better to have people happy and impressed than upset because of an expectation you set up front.

4- you will always spend more than you think