Keep blowing headlight/taillight fuse

• Help support Chopped Baggers :

98customRoadGlide

So over the last week I've blown about 5 fuses. I took my seat off and checked the wiring and had a few wires that had some wire showing so I taped them up and I'm still blowing fuses. So now I'm curious if it's something in my front fairing shorting out!

98customRoadGlide

No I dunno if there's wires under there, my lights for the rear go in my saddlebags and all those wires are good. Something is shorting out! You know it didn't start blowing fuses until one of my floorboard bolts vibrated out! I know that prolly has nothing to do with anything but I'm new to Harley so who knows.

crutter

Site Supporter
You can isolate it by taking either your headlight or tail light out and see what happens. If you take the headlight out and the fuse blows then look towards your taillight wiring. And vice versa.

Opunui

Can you get to your wire harness and shake it around to see if you can get that fuse to blow. Might be grounding out where you can't see it. It's got to be a common wire to both

98customRoadGlide

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1339213591.490556.jpgImageUploadedByTapatalk1339213601.715368.jpg

Took my outer fairing off and found this broken ground wire hanging there and had lot of wire shown. So I figure it must be vibrating and touching metal and popping my fuse!

Wanna Ride

That's not the source of the problem. Good that you found it and fixed it, but how can a ground wire touching metal, blow a fuse?
99.9% of the time, the only thing that can blow a fuse, is a direct short... of a power wire, not a ground wire.

Wanna Ride

Opunui and crutter are spot on. Somewhere, you have a short.