1999 Roadstar garage build... I'm new, be gentle!!!

PAhumbug

Site Supporter
Well I figured I'd start a thread. I've had this bike for a while. A couple years ago I bought a 26" RG and pretty much had to redo everything, so while this is my first build, I have been tinkering and learning a lot from you guys. Here is how the bike was when I got it, for the most part (photobucket will not let this photo be vertical for some reason):

It won 2nd place (Metric) in 2010 at Roar on the Shore (Erie PA) when Arlen and Cory Ness were judging:

It needed a paint job and was a bit dated, but I love the bike and couldn't bring myself to sell it. I haven't ridden it for a couple years, so I decided to turn it into a bagger.
Tear down:

Lose the trees and replace neck bearings:

Got some 8 degree trees from BVD/Strike 3/Brian Veney:

I put a black wheel on my RG and saved the chrome Glenndyne G7 wheel for this build:

Brian also hooked me up with a Tricky rear shock, stainless tank, and air pistons for the front:

I went with a RK nacelle from BadDad, here is it just thrown on to see how it looks. The bike is still on the lift so it will sit lower when aired out.

Brian also hooked me up with an adapter so I can use an HHI 6 piston caliper. Still need to figure out fender mounts, bars, etc and the front will be pretty much mocked up. Then on to the ass end.

PAhumbug

Site Supporter
Thanks guys. I got the rear shock installed last night, and got the rear fender supports and adjustable dog bones set just right so the tire won't rub when aired out. Looks like it will sit about 2" off the ground. I can't get it off the lift until I get the air plumbed/wired.

Last edited:

Dragon Dude